About IAAP Certification
About CPACC Certification  |  About WAS Certification
IAAP Approved Certification Preparation Providers
ecently Certified  |  CPACC Testimonials



Overview of IAAP Certification

The IAAP certification program aims to better define what accessibility professionals are expected to know and increase the quality and consistency of the work performed by accessibility professionals. This will not only help individuals to add to their professional qualifications, but it will also help employers of accessibility professionals to assess accessibility competence.

The IAAP will offer two types of certification: a professional level credential, and technical level credential. Current exam offerings include:

  • The IAAP Certified Professional in Accessibility Core Competencies (CPACC) credential is IAAP's foundational certification, representing broad, cross-disciplinary conceptual knowledge about 1) disabilities, 2) accessibility and universal design, and 3) accessibility-related standards, laws, and management strategies.  Apply to take a certification exam (CPACC).

  • The IAAP Web Accessibility Specialist (WAS) credential is a technical level exam representing an individual’s detailed technical knowledge about the WCAG guidelines and other related web accessibility topics.  Apply to take a certification exam (WAS).

  • Any individual who passes both the CPACC and the WAS exams will receive the designation of Certified Professional in Web Accessibility (CPWA).

More about goals, scope and structure of certification.

Become a Certified Professional in Accessibility Core Competencies (CPACC) And Web Accessibility Specialist (WAS)

2017 Exam Window Dates

  • Fall: September 11 - October 13  (Not currently open for applications)

Learn more about Certifications

Certified Professional in Accessibility Core Competencies (CPACC)

Web Accessibility Specialist (WAS)


How to take the CPACC and WAS exams: 

1. Applications are now being accepted for the following:

  • Summer Exam Window:  June 26 - July 21, 2017.  Application deadline is July 12.  Deadline for hosted exam sites vary by date and location. Go to apply to take a certification exam for more details.

Details on the WAS content outline is now available.  WAS Body of Knowledge and the updated CPACC Body of Knowledge are now available.

Updated CPACC Body of Knowledge

WAS Body of Knowledge

2. Exam locations:

  • Privately proctored exams - for individuals who use AT or require an accommodation
Additional information on selected locations and individual private proctoring for those using assistive technology and requesting accommodations are available on our Apply to Take a Certification Exam page.

  • Hosted exam sites – for those who do or do not use AT or require an accommodation
The following hosted testing site locations on specific dates are currently available (more will be added to the website as they are confirmed).  Please note: the deadline to apply to these exam sites is 5 days prior to date of exam.

  • My Blind Spot - Long Island, NY
    • June 30, 10:00 a.m.
    • July 7, 10:00 a.m.
    • July 14, 10:00 a.m.
    • July 21, 10:00 a.m.
  • AMAC at Georgia Tech - Atlanta,  GA
    • June 28, 10:00 a.m.
    • July 7, 10:00 a.m.
    • July 13, 10:00 a.m. 
  • Deque Systems, Inc. - Herndon, VA
    • July 20
  • AbilityNet - London, England
    • July 21, 10:00 a.m.
  • Anticipated additional locations:
    • Stockholm
    • Boston
  • Kryterion test centers – for those who do not require the use of AT or an accommodation (1000 test locations in 120 countries)
Take the exam at a Kryterion test center for those who will not be using assistive technology or requesting an accommodation. The Kryterion Test Centers will be available for the Summer 2017 Exam Window.  You can view a list of Kryterion testing center locations here: http://www.kryteriononline.com/Locate-Test-Center.

Submit your application before the July 12th deadline.
  Applications can be found at Apply to Take a Certification Exam. Please allow at least 5 business days' notice prior to your requested exam date.

3. For details on how to submit an application and to register for an exam, visit Apply to Take a Certification Exam.


Interested in hosting the exam at your facility? 


IAAP is a member of ICE (Institute for Credentialing Excellence) 

The Institute for Credentialing Excellence, or ICE, is a professional membership association that provides education, networking, and other resources for organizations and individuals who work in and serve the credentialing industry.  ICE is a leading developer of standards for both certification and certificate programs and it is both a provider of and a clearing house for information on trends in certification, test development and delivery, assessment-based certificate programs, and other information relevant to the credentialing community.

IAAP Logo IconJoin IAAP Today

What will make our profession strong is having you as a member. Regardless of your knowledge level in accessibility, we all play a role in growing this profession. Help guide us to being a great professional association serving our diverse needs.

IAAP Connections IconGet Engaged

Through use of IAAP Connections, you can join an existing discussion or even start your own. You can also blog, upload resources to libraries and join some of our committees.

Get involved today.
Make IAAP a strong community.