IAAP Committees

The GLC has created the following committees, which are made up of subject matter experts who are committed to promoting and improving the accessibility profession globally through certification, education and networking in order to enable the creation of accessible products, content and services.

Marketing and Communications Committee
Certification Committee
Competencies Development and Recommendation (CDR) Committee
Nominations Committee
Individual Professional Development Committee
Organizational Development Committee

Marketing and Communications Committee

The mission of this committee is to work with IAAP Marketing team to promote IAAP programs and benefits to current and potential members across all sectors.

Marketing and Communications Committee Members:

Contact: marcom@accessibilityassociation.org

Ty D’Amore (Chair), David Berman, Helen Chamberlain, Pina D’Intino, Susan Hewitt, Kevin Hower, Christopher Lee, Christine Loew, Eduardo Meza-Etienne, Rachel Paul, Mary Rainier-Skala, Rob Sinclair, Mark Walker

Certification Committee

The Certification Committee shall be responsible for overseeing the IAAP certification program, policies and activities and for monitoring compliance with all applicable regulations and accreditation requirements.

Certification Committee Members:

Nicole Bergstrom, Sheri Byrne-Haber, Jay Cardinali, Suman Damera, Eric Hind, JoAnne Juett, Susanna Laurin, Nigel Lewis, David MacDonald, Ken Nakatata, Laura Renfro, Valorie Sundby, Christian Vinten-Johansen

Competencies Development and Recommendation (CDR) Committee

The CDR Committee shall oversee the creation of IAAP’s materials to support IAAP’s Certification including the development of the Body of Knowledge (BOK) needed for each Certification exam.  The BOK document outlines the knowledge and skills expected of candidates seeking to obtain the Certified Professional in Accessibility Core Competencies (CPACC) credential or the Web Accessibility Specialist (WAS) credential.  Sub-groups within this committee will be formed for each exam area (CPACC, WAS, other) to assist in the BOK, exam question writing, and exam review.

CDR Committee Members:

Mary Albert, CB Averitt, Michelle Baldwin, David Berman, Paul Bohman, Sheri Byrne-Haber, Sambhavi Chandrashekar, Siddhant Chothe, Elizabeth Crutchfield, Jennie Delisi, Pina D'Intino, Katie Haritos-Shea, Lydia Harkey, Allen Hoffman, Joseph Karschnik, Stephen Marositz, Rosemary Musachio, Ron Rateau, Paul Rayius, Laura Renfro, Damian Sian, Glenda Sims, Amita Singh, Stacy Straczynski, Valorie Sundby, Dawn Watkins, Kimberly Wee, Gottfried Zimmermann

Nominations Committee

Determine slate of candidates for IAAP Global Leadership Council annual election.

  • Review applications for IAAP's Global Leadership Council
  • Interview candidates for Global Leadership Council
  • Vet candidates for Global Leadership Council slate

Individual Professional Development Committee

Develop and implement professional development framework for individuals working in accessibility.

  • Determine educational content for IAAP's webinar program
  • Discuss core competencies currently being developed across specific domains

Individual Professional Development Committee Members:

Contact: ipdc@accessibilityassociation.org

Crystal Baker (Chair), Paul Bohman, Heather Burns, Jay Cardinali, Helen Chamberlain, Josh Christianson, Pina D’Intino, Angel Harlins, Brad Held, Ann Junker, Chris Law, Christine Loew, Tracy McMahon, Aparna Pasi, Dan Schipul, Sandeep Triumangalam, Christian Vinten-Johansen

Content Committee:

The Content Committee is a subset of the Individual Professional Development Committee  and assist in the selection of the topics for the IAAP Tracks at the M-Enabling Summit.

Organizational Development Committee

Develop resources and programs for organizations, corporations, and government entities to grow accessibility strategy.

  • Share best practices and discuss business case for accessibility
  • Gather, create, and vet documents to curate a resource library housed on IAAP's website

Organizational Development Committee Members:

Contact: odc@accessibilityassociation.org

Donna Bungard, Heather Burns, Pina D’Intino, Brad Held, Klaus Hoeckner, Curt Holst, James Jackson, Elianna James, Tracy Jordan, Chris Law, Aparna Pasi, Mary Rainer-Skala (Chair), Julie Romanowski (Secretary), Dan Schipul, Joy Scott, Rob Sinclair, Paul Smyth, Valorie Sundby, Mark Weiler, Margaret Williams, David Wysocki

IAAP Logo. Click to join IAAP today.Join IAAP Today

What will make our profession strong is having you as a member. Regardless of your knowledge level in accessibility, we all play a role in growing this profession. Help guide us to being a great professional association serving our diverse needs.

IAAP Connections Icon. Click to get engaged with IAAP connections.Get Engaged

Through use of IAAP Connections, you can join an existing discussion or even start your own. You can also blog, upload resources to libraries and join some of our committees.

Get involved today.
Make IAAP a strong community.